JK HD Hinged Carrier & Adjustable Spare Tire Mounting Kit

Price: $699.99

 

JK HD Hinged Carrier & Adjustable Spare Tire Mounting Kit

 
(15 reviews)

SKU: 4838150


Description

The TeraFlex JK Heavy Duty Adjustable Tire Carrier is designed to carry up to a 37” tire over the most extreme trails and obstacles, and provide easy and immediate access to the rear cargo area with a one-handed single action. This tire carrier spreads the load and weight of the tire to more than just one hinge point. Incorporating and using the factory tailgate, the hinge mounting points spread and separate the load as far apart as possible, resulting in maximum strength and durability. Dedicated tooling provides a cast A356.2 T6 Aluminum main component. This keeps the carrier as light and strong as possible. The fit and finish is designed to follow the flow and contour of the Jeep body, while seamlessly providing additional mounting points for off-road accessories such as recovery jack and fluid containers. The factory Jeep body provides substantial internal gussets and bracing that easily supports the new tire carrier and oversized tire. The HD hinge brackets are forged steel and the HD 5/8” hinge pins are constructed from cold formed high-carbon hardened steel. The combination of mounting location and HD mounting brackets provides one of the strongest, rattle-free tire carriers on the market today. The TeraFlex HD Tire Carrier removes all stress from the gate by utilizing the HD reinforcement carrier as the load-carrying component; in effect it carries the weight of both the tailgate assembly and the spare tire. The simple 100% bolt-on installation can be performed using common hand tools, with no drilling required. The simple design also allows for the use of a rear bumper of your choice - no aftermarket bumper purchase is required, and it works with most aftermarket bumpers. This carrier is a patented design (#D698224) covered by the USPTO, and is a known favorite among Chrysler. Install time: 2 hours


Specifications

Weight 46.0 lbs
Vehicle Type
JK Wrangler
JKU Wrangler Unlimited
Videos
Attachments

Log in to review this item!

Customer Reviews

May 30th 2015
Don Fenton
Great combo. Running 35" Toyos and my spare is super secure. Easy install. Will need a way to press wheel studs into mounting plate through oversize carrier piece. Solid solid products.
July 25th 2015
Stephen
Very well made, no rattles at all. The tire is very close to the door witch is great when coming off ledges. It's a bit stiff when I first put it on, but is now not as much.
November 20th 2015
Dave
I've owned a few different carriers on my Jeep now and this one is hands down my favorite. It's well built, solid as can be, and have zero shaking or noises even holding my 37. Im a fan of having the carrier seperate from bumper so I can run any bumper I want in the future. Last but not least, it's a very simple install
November 20th 2015
Shauna
I love my Teraflex tire carrier!!!!! It seriously saved the gate on my 2008 JK! My tire's are 35's so my spare is of course the same. Well that size of tire was starting to pop the welds in the gate of my jeep, so I needed to do something, and FAST! The minute I put the Teraflex tire carrier and hinge set up on, no more shaking or rattling at all!! Money well spent!!! Thank you Teraflex!!
November 21st 2015
Rob P
I've had this hinge and the TF carrier on my JK for 12 months carrying a 35" tire on a 17" wheel, with no issues and no rattles. The installation was simple, I followed a video from TF and another I found on YouTube and it couldn't have been easier. Highly recommended.
November 21st 2015
Rob P
I've had this hinge and the TF carrier on my JK for 12 months carrying a 35" tire on a 17" wheel, with no issues and no rattles. The installation was simple, I followed a video from TF and another I found on YouTube and it couldn't have been easier. Highly recommended.
November 21st 2015
David Longwell
This the best tire carrier on the market and solid. I carry a 37" tire on it and I can't tell any different when I open the tailgate.
November 23rd 2015
Trucks 2 Bikes PLUS
Excelant fit and finish, works great for my 35s on our company Jeep
November 23rd 2015
Jeromey balkey
I love my teraflex carrier combo...saved my jeeps tailgate....awesome product
December 11th 2015
Dave Cunningham
I've had this product for 12+ months now, and it is one of the best things I've done to my Jeep. Rock solid. Absolutely no rattles or bouncing. Just take your time and follow the instructions for a perfect fit.
February 21st 2016
Erin Williams
Just installed and other than muscle to break bolts, I was able to do this install without help. Very solid, very well built, and easy install what more could you ask for? Immediately noticed the difference from stock and much prefer this set up over a separate carrier. Thanks TeraFlex for keeping the standards high!
March 1st 2016
Bob Holland
Superb product. I had my spare 35 on factory bracket with extension and, while functional, the shuttering on the tailgate was teeth clenching much less what was happening to the tailgate itself! I installed this product in well under an hour and what a difference. The tire is up close to the jeep, not a foot away! it is solid, secure and the tailgate even shuts solid now. Great engineering, easily installed, superb quality. A must if you are avoiding tire carrying bumpers! Plus their install videos with Dennis are hilarious, goofy and still yet informative! I did have to relocate my vhf antenna from behind the tire (not the best spot for it anyway) to the passenger side. but go figure, Teraflex has a bracket for that too, which also worked perfect! While there are less expensive solutions out there, they are not comparable to this product.
March 11th 2016
Mark Heller
Just got it - went on easy, fits like a glove. Like it grew there on its own. Got the carrier accessory as well, but now noting a few other tapped holes.... Is there more stuff coming? Told the wife it carries more weight... She wants a bike rack on it... Give a girl a cupcake, she's gonna want sprinkles. Could it take a bike rack?
June 3rd 2016
Aaron Pyle
What can I say, yet another high quality product that Teraflex offers. If you want the best then I suggest going with this tire carrier. Very sturdy, easy to install, and allows the ability to mount more items to your Jeep.
January 11th 2017
John michaelis
Awesome tire carrier easy to install no creeks or squeaks 👍👍👍teraflex

Featured Products

JK HD Hinged Carrier & Adjustable Spare Tire Mounting Kit
$699.99
JK Rear Performance Big Slotted Rotor Kit
$422.99
JK Rear Utility Cargo Rack - Silver
$299.99
JK Complete 8 Adjustable Alpine Flexarm Kit
$1,146.99
Freedom Top Holder & Full Hard Door Hanger Combo Kit
$99.99