Complete JK TeraFlex Alpha HD Hinged Spare Tire Carrier & Alpha HD Adjustable Spare Tire Mounting Kit

Price: $699.99

 

Complete JK TeraFlex Alpha HD Hinged Spare Tire Carrier & Alpha HD Adjustable Spare Tire Mounting Kit

 
(16 reviews)

SKU: 4838150


Description

Ever since engineering the first coil spring lift kit for the then-new TJ Wrangler, TeraFlex has been at the forefront of innovation and performance for the Jeep Wrangler market. Never resting on our laurels, we raised the bar yet again with the innovative JK TeraFlex Alpha Heavy-Duty Hinged Spare Tire Carrier and Alpha Heavy-Duty Adjustable Spare Tire Mounting Kit shown at the 2011 SEMA Show. Not only did our JK TeraFlex Alpha Heavy-Duty Hinged Spare Tire Carrier leave our competitors’ heads spinning, but it inspired them to “develop” their own hinged spare tire carrier. It took them nearly five years to produce an inferior product lacking many of the features of our Alpha Heavy-Duty Hinged Spare Tire Carrier and Heavy-Duty Adjustable Spare Tire Mounting Kit. We invested heavily to engineer this kit to meet several industry standards including FEA validation and ASTM and SAE testing procedures. Don’t be fooled by cheap imitations, TeraFlex products set the industry standard and are guaranteed to offer dependable performance to last a lifetime. Designed to accommodate up to a 37” tire, the TeraFlex JK TeraFlex Alpha Heavy-Duty Hinged Spare Tire Carrier and Alpha Heavy-Duty Adjustable Spare Tire Mounting Kit will secure your spare tire over the most extreme trails and rugged terrain. Our hinged spare tire carrier offers easy access to the rear cargo area in one smooth action. Using the factory tailgate hinge mounting points spreads the load of the spare tire over a larger area for maximum strength and durability. Dedicated tooling and A356.2 T6 cast aluminum construction with a UV top coat, make our Alpha Heavy-Duty Hinged Spare Tire Carrier as light and as strong as possible, while its design, fit, and finish complement the JK Wrangler’s body shape. Internal gussets and bracing in the stock Wrangler body supports the Alpha tire carrier and oversized tire. Heavy-Duty forged steel brackets and Heavy-Duty 5/8” hinge pins constructed from fold formed high-carbon hardened steel combined with the factory mounting locations ensure the strongest rattle-free tire carrier available. With the Heavy-Duty reinforcement carrier supporting the weight of the tailgate assembly and spare tire, the Alpha tire carrier removes all stress from the tailgate. The Alpha tire carrier also provides additional mounting points for off-road accessories such as a recovery jack and fluid containers. • Fits all 2-door JK Wrangler & 4-door JKU Wrangler Unlimited models. INCLUDES: • JK Alpha HD Hinged Spare Tire Carrier (# 4838100) • Adjustable Spare Tire Mounting Kit FEATURES & BENEFITS: • Allows adjustment for up to 37” tire • Innovative & unique patented design (USPTO: # D6982240) • Maintains single one-handed entry to the rear cargo area • Threaded mounting holes for mounting accessories (fuel cans, recovery jack, etc.) • Eliminates tailgate stress & rattles • Simplicity & ease of installation – can be performed using common hand tools • No drilling required • Factory form fitting geometry & finish. CAD-designed tooling follows the precise compound curvature of the Jeep body, resulting in a carrier w/ an OEM appearance • No aftermarket bumper purchase required – works w/ OEM & most aftermarket bumpers • Strong & lightweight A356.2 T6 cast aluminum • 14,000-cycle severe duty slam testing • 1,000-hour extreme salt spray testing • OEM Quality UV resistant powder coat finish NOTE: • Requires wheels w/ 5.0” backspacing or less – or TeraFlex offset wheel adapters (# 1055005). INSTALL TIME: 2 Hours


Specifications

Weight 46.0 lbs
Vehicle Type
JK Wrangler
JKU Wrangler Unlimited
Videos
Attachments

Log in to review this item!

Customer Reviews

May 30th 2015
Don Fenton
Great combo. Running 35" Toyos and my spare is super secure. Easy install. Will need a way to press wheel studs into mounting plate through oversize carrier piece. Solid solid products.
July 25th 2015
Stephen
Very well made, no rattles at all. The tire is very close to the door witch is great when coming off ledges. It's a bit stiff when I first put it on, but is now not as much.
November 20th 2015
Dave
I've owned a few different carriers on my Jeep now and this one is hands down my favorite. It's well built, solid as can be, and have zero shaking or noises even holding my 37. Im a fan of having the carrier seperate from bumper so I can run any bumper I want in the future. Last but not least, it's a very simple install
November 20th 2015
Shauna
I love my Teraflex tire carrier!!!!! It seriously saved the gate on my 2008 JK! My tire's are 35's so my spare is of course the same. Well that size of tire was starting to pop the welds in the gate of my jeep, so I needed to do something, and FAST! The minute I put the Teraflex tire carrier and hinge set up on, no more shaking or rattling at all!! Money well spent!!! Thank you Teraflex!!
November 21st 2015
Rob P
I've had this hinge and the TF carrier on my JK for 12 months carrying a 35" tire on a 17" wheel, with no issues and no rattles. The installation was simple, I followed a video from TF and another I found on YouTube and it couldn't have been easier. Highly recommended.
November 21st 2015
Rob P
I've had this hinge and the TF carrier on my JK for 12 months carrying a 35" tire on a 17" wheel, with no issues and no rattles. The installation was simple, I followed a video from TF and another I found on YouTube and it couldn't have been easier. Highly recommended.
November 21st 2015
David Longwell
This the best tire carrier on the market and solid. I carry a 37" tire on it and I can't tell any different when I open the tailgate.
November 23rd 2015
Trucks 2 Bikes PLUS
Excelant fit and finish, works great for my 35s on our company Jeep
November 23rd 2015
Jeromey balkey
I love my teraflex carrier combo...saved my jeeps tailgate....awesome product
December 11th 2015
Dave Cunningham
I've had this product for 12+ months now, and it is one of the best things I've done to my Jeep. Rock solid. Absolutely no rattles or bouncing. Just take your time and follow the instructions for a perfect fit.
February 21st 2016
Erin Williams
Just installed and other than muscle to break bolts, I was able to do this install without help. Very solid, very well built, and easy install what more could you ask for? Immediately noticed the difference from stock and much prefer this set up over a separate carrier. Thanks TeraFlex for keeping the standards high!
March 11th 2016
Mark Heller
Just got it - went on easy, fits like a glove. Like it grew there on its own. Got the carrier accessory as well, but now noting a few other tapped holes.... Is there more stuff coming? Told the wife it carries more weight... She wants a bike rack on it... Give a girl a cupcake, she's gonna want sprinkles. Could it take a bike rack?
June 3rd 2016
Aaron Pyle
What can I say, yet another high quality product that Teraflex offers. If you want the best then I suggest going with this tire carrier. Very sturdy, easy to install, and allows the ability to mount more items to your Jeep.
January 11th 2017
John michaelis
Awesome tire carrier easy to install no creeks or squeaks 👍👍👍teraflex
March 1st 2016
Bob Holland
Superb product. I had my spare 35 on factory bracket with extension and, while functional, the shuttering on the tailgate was teeth clenching much less what was happening to the tailgate itself! I installed this product in well under an hour and what a difference. The tire is up close to the jeep, not a foot away! it is solid, secure and the tailgate even shuts solid now. Great engineering, easily installed, superb quality. A must if you are avoiding tire carrying bumpers! Plus their install videos with Dennis are hilarious, goofy and still yet informative! I did have to relocate my vhf antenna from behind the tire (not the best spot for it anyway) to the passenger side. but go figure, Teraflex has a bracket for that too, which also worked perfect! While there are less expensive solutions out there, they are not comparable to this product.
November 7th 2017
copperhead
From stock to a bumper mounted tire carrier.... back to stock and broken tailgate and rear glass later, i decided to get the TeraFlex HD tire carrier and couldn't be happier with it

Featured Products

Complete JK TeraFlex Alpha HD Hinged Spare Tire Carrier & Alpha HD Adjustable Spare Tire Mounting Kit
$699.99
JK 2-4” Lift 8-Arm Adjustable Alpine Flexarm Kit - Complete Set
$1,146.99
JK Front Brake Line Anchor Kit
$19.99
JK 4-Door 2.5-3.5” Lift Falcon Series 3.3 Fast Adjust Piggyback Shock Absorber Kit - All 4
$1,398.99
JK Falcon Bolt-On Rear Shock Skid Plate Kit
$89.99

`